Post processing checkout links payments

I’m new to square and trying to fully understand checkout links for a payment which would need a shipping address and various other details like custom fields.

I’ve created the checkout links including the custom fields on the dashboard, this was very easy.

What I’d like to do is for the customer to click on the checkout link on my website (no problem), go to the square hosted payment page (no problem), receive a confirmation email from square (no problem), go back to a “thank you” page on my website (no problem) and then I’d like to have all the details of the payment on my website like name, email address, shipping address, amount paid, etc. (this is where I get stuck).

I’d like to work in the above fashion so that I can do all the post processing I’d need, for example inserting the order details into a db, send out various emails using my web framework, etc, etc. So it seems this last part I’m unable to do. I can see the payment details on the dashboard, but I’d like to do automated post processing right after an order is placed and payment is completed.

I’ve read that checkout links don’t support webhooks. Is this correct? A webhook would be ideal for my setup, that way I guess square would send all order/payment details to an endpoint on my website and I’d be ready to go.

Is there a way to achieve something like this with checkout links?

So far I like checkout links because setting them up was really easy, I’m only stuck with how to get all order/payment details to my web app. For example, the “thank you” page can not receive this information in a POST?

Or I should move away from checkout links and use something else?

:wave: Checkout links for payments trigger payment and order webhooks. You can definitely listen for these events and then make any additional API calls with the IDs in the webhook payload. :slightly_smiling_face:

Thanks a lot Bryan!