Webhook for Completed Payment

I am completely new to the concept of webhooks, and I have read up on the subject. But some assistance would still be appreciated.

Currently, my eCommerce app has a shopping cart that sends customers to the Square Checkout page when they want to pay via online-checkout/payment-links. What I need is for Square to notify my app when the customers have successfully completed payment. Once the customer has successfully payment, my app needs to add the customers’ name to a list within the app and send a confirmation email.

I have looked through the Square API document on webhooks, but I am not sure which webhook to use. I see there’re payment.updated and invoice.payment_made. Am I on the right track?

Thanks.

With our webhooks you’ll want to listen to the payments.updated events to pull the customer_id from the payment. Once you have the customer_id you can call RetrieveCustomer to get the name of the customer to send the email confirmation. :slight_smile:

Great! I will give this a shot.

Another question related to this. Right now while I am in development mode, I can successfully send access Square’s online customer checkout page. My understanding is I cannot simulate a successful payment/transaction in that page. If that is the case, how do I test my webhooks?

You’ll be able to test in sandbox. The sandbox will allow you to preview the link and process a payment that will trigger the payment.updated webhook events. :slight_smile:

I don’t see customer_id returned to me.

Was a customer_id passed in the CreatePayment request? This payment is an EXTERNAL payment and there isn’t any additional information for us to infer the customer. :slight_smile:

I didn’t use CreatePayment. I used online-checkout/payment-links. I did not notice before, but now I can see that under the order parameter. It now says customer_id is in BETA. Does that mean it’s new and is being tested? Is it ok to use?