CreatePaymentLink, CreateOrder, and Dynamic Number of Line Items

Hi, Square Community:

I am new to building web apps and working with APIs, so this project has been a steep learning curve.

I am testing the APIs in API Explorer before I implement them in my own app. I have been successful at adding CreatePaymentLink to my app, but I am only able to include one line item when the number of line items is supposed to be dynamic.

My understanding is CreatePaymentLink includes an itemized list of the ordered products, so I do not need CreateOrder, correct? And I just found out I can manually add line items in CreatePaymentLink in API Explorer. Yet, I’m looking at CreateOrder that defines a line item ad hoc. Does that mean I need CreateOrder to add line items? And how to I make that dynamic?

Thank you.

Welcome! With the Payment links you’ll build the itemized order in the request to create the link. When the link is created we will call the Orders API to create the order and return it in the response. Currently you can’t add an order created with the Orders API to a payment link. :slightly_smiling_face:

Then I am having trouble making the number of line items dynamic.

How so? You’ll just need to add an additional line item to the CreatePaymentLink request. For example:

{
    "checkout_options": {
      "redirect_url": "https://www.myRedirectURL.com",
      "accepted_payment_methods": {
        "afterpay_clearpay": true,
        "cash_app_pay": true,
        "google_pay": true,
        "apple_pay": true
      },
      "allow_tipping": true
    },
    "idempotency_key": "3e7aa4f4-d325-4245-9838-489c136967c9",
    "pre_populated_data": {
      "buyer_address": {
        "first_name": "Bryan",
        "last_name": "Wiseman"
      },
      "buyer_email": "[email protected]",
      "buyer_phone_number": "4152128888"
    },
    "quick_pay": {
      "location_id": "{{location_id}}",
      "name": "name test",
      "price_money": {
        "amount": 100,